I was listening to the Dresden Dolls’ “Coin Operated Boy” and I drew this. The lyrics are pretty great:

sitting on the shelf

he is just a toy

but i turn him on

and he comes to life

automatic joy

that is why i want

a coin-operated boy

made of plastic and elastic

he is rugged and long-lasting

who could ever ever ask for more

love without complications galore

Many Shapes and Weights to Choose From

I will Never Leave My Bedroom

I will never cry at night Again

Wrap My Arms Around Him And Pretend

 

coin-operated boy

all the other real

ones that i destroyed

cannot hold a candle to my new boy and i’ll

never let him go

and i’ll never be alone(go)

and i’ll never let him go

and i’ll never be alone(go)

and i’ll never be alone(go)

and i’ll never be alone

not with my coin-operated boy

 

this bridge was written to make you feel smittener

with my sad picture

of girl getting bitter-er

can you extract me

from my plastic fantasy

i didn’t think so

but i’m still convencinble

will you persist even after i bet you

a billion dollars that i’ll never love you?

and will you persist even after i kiss you

goodbye for the last time

will you keep on trying?

to prove it

i’m dying

to lose it

i’m losing

my confidence

i want it

i want it

i want it

i want it

 

i want you

i want you

i want you

i want you

i want you

 

i want a

i want a

i want a

i want a

i want a

 

coin operated boy

 

if i had a star to wish on

for my life i can’t imagine

any flesh and blood could be his match

i can even take him in the bath

 

coin operated boy

he may not be real

experienced with girls

but i know he feels

like a boy should feel

isn’t that the point?

that is why i want a coin-operated boy

with a pretty coin-operated voice

saying that he loves me

that he’s thinking of me

straight and to the point

that is why i want a

coin-operated boy.

 

 

that is all! hope everyone is having a pleasant evening!

