It’s 1:19 AM, and I’m vegging out after a final. What better way to pass the time than by watching silly romantic movies and drawing?

I’m trying out a somewhat new thing–mixed media. The drawings were all done with red mechanical pencil, inked over with a 0.3 muji pen and the backgrounds colored with markers and the snowflakes with white charcoal. Ah, snow, ah kisses under streetlights!

The first drawing is actually a re-do of a drawing of two people under a streetlight done last year around this time (I don’t think I scanned it, but if I do I’ll put it up for comparison). When I can’t think of anything to draw, I re-draw things I’ve done before just to see the level of improvement. I think in this case (and you guys will have to take my word for it) that there’s been a pretty significant improvement. I hope that next year at this time it’ll be even more of a jump in quality.

It’s Thursday now, and I’m contentedly munching on popcorn and listening to music. Because I haven’t done one in a long, long time, here’s a quick Things I Love Thursday

  • Betsey Johnson sample sales. I’m glad Laura dragged me to it because I had the best time trying on dresses and buying one really pretty slinky little black dress that will no doubt last me a long, long time.
  • Yaya’s Tea Garden in Chinatown, right off of Elizabeth and Hester (make a tiny right at Hester if you’re walking downtown) is pretty amazing. So far, I’ve tried the orasmathurs, chrysanthemum, rose assam and lavender lattes and am dying for more. Seriously go if you’re in the neighborhood. Mindy, the girl who works there, is lovely and engaging to talk to. The tea is unbeatable and the riceballs are delicious and it’s all reasonably priced. What else do you want?
  • Disney’s The Princess and the Frog: SO ADORABLE. Disney never fails!
  • Speaking of movies, Enchanted, Totoro, Spirited Away, Beauty and the Beast. Sighhh. <33
  • bagels, coffee and poetry with my professor
  • drawing endlessly
  • upcoming winter break–it’s VEGAS, baby! Vegas, LA, San Francisco, and Phoenix. I’ve never been to the West Coast before and am thoroughly excited.
  • big snuggly sweaters and brown combat boots
  • lavender incense
  • origami paper and decorative hearts
  • laughing hysterically
  • meeting lots of wonderful new people and running into old friends
  • getting my inspiration back. I just really needed to sit down and draw something with concentration as opposed to random doodles of faces and heads.
