yes, art. More specifically, doodling. You should all do it because I heard somewhere that doodling improves memory (maybe it was a study done by guilty college students who spend more class time doodling than taking notes, as I so often find myself doing). There is nothing better than a blank piece of paper in front of me and a pen in my hand. My mind drips through the molecules on the page (I’ve been writing way too much about molecules and neurotransmitters lately) and I find my fingers taking the most fantastic linear adventures along the way.  draw girls, faces, girls who resemble me, morbid bunny rabbits eating hands with sharp shark teeth, cats, hands, robots, bionic parts, wings…

Try this if you’re stressed: Take a piece of paper and draw whatever comes to mind. It can be something as simple as scribbles and hearts and stars or it can be an elaborately crafted dinosaur. Do it for the sheer pleasure of doodling, let your imagination wander and your mind dance. The best drawings I’ve made have all come from starting with a doodle and then just letting myself have fun with it, and to hell with making it conceptually clever or good in some way. As long as you put a lot of heart into it, it will show. Do it for yourself. When we draw sometimes we forget that the whole purpose of art is to just let yourself go. Well, let yourself go. Go, go, go! Go as far and fast as you want. Love the paper and the pen, love your fingers that move over the page. Love what you make and love it back to yourself. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

